Wildfires and other disasters

Finally I got some time. The last 14 days were just a little bit exhausting. Worth it, but exhausting. Since the last entry not only 14 days have passed, but I also managed to drive about 2.500 km. Or in other words: From Munich to Berlin to Munich to Berlin to Munich to Nuremberg. More or less at least. So I hope you can excuse my lack of posting, but I also do need to experience stuff to blog about, so I guess it's all good. 

So where do I start, usually I have the best ideas to write while driving, but yeah, that's obviously not working. Well, we visited Seattle, which was pretty much as expected, Party and Bullshit so to speak. We even found a free parking spot, which is kind of having a sechser im Lotto. And nobody tried to steal the car, so we got double lucky. But we only stayed there for one night, because all the hostels were fully booked and we weren't too keen on sleeping in the car in the middle of Seattle so we went back on the road. And because I do like mountains and forests our next goal was easily to be found: Mt. Rainier. Volcanoe. Glaciers. National Park. Big words, big mountain. And on top of that not even that far from Seattle, how sweet is that?

The lone Mountain

Unfortunately there were wildfires in the area, so it was kinda smokey in the woods. So decided to leave the mountain and get out of the smoke. It was not as easy as I hoped and we had to drive about 4 hours until we reached Aberdeen, WA. The smarter ones of you will now get excited. Aberdeen. Exactly. The birthplace of Kurt Cobain. At least so we learned that night on the Walmart parking lot. So we visited the humongous memorial park. Well not exactly humongous, rather like a big RV trailer. But still a park nonetheless. Other than that Aberdeen was pretty much just another small Town so we decided to go down south a bit further and cruise a little along the coast. So we ended up in Long Beach after a while.


And this almost would've been a regular post...

I could continue like this, pretend nothing ever happened. Tell you stories about the beaches, the kites and how our car broke down near Mt. St. Helens. How we sat in some random redneck bar waiting for it to get fixed. About endless wildfires and completely smokey cities. Or how I drove for 11 hours straight to get back to Canada after I dropped off Jonas at the airport in Portland.

But I won't. 

Because disaster struck.

Well actually it was only a disaster for a short period, now it is rather an inconvenience. 

So what happened? For the first time ever, something important got stolen from me. And it was my laptop. From my hostel room. I tend to trust the people around me and so I did not put it into my locker and last Saturday a stranger came and took it. Luckily we live in a totally monitored world and I could track my laptop the next morning and actually got it back from the thief. But he did tell me he was not the thief but bought the laptop the same morning from some other guy he had never seen. Bullshit. But I had not seen the video footage of the cameras at that point so I had no chance of proving him wrong. Later that day we could proof it was him, so I filed a police report because the hostel staff knew his name. But of course he did delete all my data from my laptop.

Photos. Documents. Videos. Music.

Gone.

Luckily I still have the photos from this trip on my camera, but that's about all I got now. What remains are the memories. And if we're perfectly honest: who looks at pictures anyway?

So yeah that's what happened to me.

But of course it's not all bad, in fact it's all very good (if you ignore the thievery). I spent the past 10ish days in Banff, doing some hiking, and "some" partying. Well maybe more than some. Maybe more like every day. But that just happens if you meet the group of lovely, crazy people who are staying in this hostel with me. And it's not winter yet, so what should we do anyways? And since not too much has happened here I will just upload some nice photos for you. Sorry for not being able to edit them properly, but some soldier ass deleted my stuff. Just in case you forgot ;)

 

Enjoy


Oh and yes, Katie you're awesome. 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 2
  • #1

    Marius (Freitag, 11 September 2015 08:56)

    I love ur blog it´s amazing dude := <3 enjoy ur trip

  • #2

    jagertee (Sonntag, 13 September 2015 11:46)

    so far so good, but on this point one question is still unanswered. who is katie? the squirell ? ;) have fun!