Of Outhouses and men.

Just as I was starting to write this post we had a growling dog halfway in our van. Maybe I should take this as a sign and not continue writing. Or maybe it was because I, once again, took too long to create an entry. Be it as it may. As I am writing this, we are happily camping on a Walmart parking lot (again), enjoying their free and fast wifi and waiting for the night to cool down. Believe it or not, since we've been here it has been hot. Like really freaking hot. Seriously. 

Right now we are on our way to Seattle, not sure what we want to do there, but its the next goal. It's only a mere 40 mile drive (yes, we are in the U.S. by now, so we have to use arbitrary units for measurement) but still we decided to sleep one more night in the Van before returning to the luxuries of hostel. Not any hostel. A really nice hostel. But I will tell you all about it once we stayed there. No reason to rush things, I am on vacation (sort of) after all. 

So what happened since the last entry? We managed to buy a Van, as you might have noticed, since I am currently lying in it and typing this very lines. It's a green Chevy Astro Van, in decent shape and with one of the comfiest beds I ever slept on. But as it is with cars and such, some little things are still not working. In our case its the A/C and the electric passenger window. At least for the latter we already have the spare part, we just need to install it. We will do it. Soon. I guess. Maybe we will even fix the A/C since it's constantly above 30C somehow. I wasn't even aware it could get this hot over here but, it seems it does. Anyways, after Whistler, where we met some wonderful people and had some crazy parties and one not so great moment at a very great lake, we loaded the car and wanted to go to Seattle.

US of A.

Land of the Free!

HOME OF THE BRAVE!

Yeah. But we didn't go.

We went to Vancouver Island instead. Because Vancouver Island is always the right place to go.

Seriously. It is a crazy place. But the good kind of crazy. On the first day we just wanted to get as close to Tofino/Ukee as possible. But we took our time and explored a lot of the parks close to the highway. One of our first stops were the little Qualicum falls. I just thought it would be a nice place to cook dinner and chill a bit before finding a place for the night. But Vancouver Island happened. It was crazy beautiful there. It sounds kind of weird, but it wouldn't make any sense trying to describe them. Luckily I made a few photos of a little remote waterfall just outside the park to give you an idea. But still even the pictures catch the sheer beauty of untouched temperate rainforest. It was just pristine. Perfectly beautiful, almost artificial.

After our little hike to this truly amazing place, we had our dinner beneath large red cedars. Our first outside dinner! We were not visited by any bears, wolves or cougars, so I guess it was a good evening. Eventually, after everything was cleaned up and stored away, we went back on the road again to find a place for the night. We found a cozy little parking spot right next to a crystal clear lake. We were not exactly sure if we were allowed to stay there, but nobody bothered us, so I guess it was fine. And at this lake I found it. The holy grail of outhouses. Very inconspicuous at first glance, but thats just a trick. It's great. I can't tell you why. Just try it yourselves. Oh and leave the door open, to experience all its magic. I guess with the door closed it would be an ordinary outhouse. So after I recovered from this magical moment, we went for a morning swim in the chilling water of the lake. Plus since our camper does not have a shower we could even wash off some of the older dirt. 

On the same day we made it to Tofino and visited some of the trails of the Pacific Rim National Park. We are also proud holders of a Parks Canada Annual Group Pass for up to 7 people, so if you want to come to a National Park with us, we might invite you! The park was great, but we mostly spend our time on the almost white beaches of the pacific, dreaming of Hawaii as we got lost watching the waves crushing on the fine sand. The Island seriously might be one of my most favourite places I have ever been to, it's just great there. Maybe even a little too great. IF there is such a thing as too great, which I don't think is possible. Well of course I could go on for quite a while listing every step we took and every moment we experienced, but somehow this feels not appropriate. I guess it's good enough to share the main events and some nice pictures. Anyways, the next entry will follow, maybe even still while I am in the U.S. who knows. But for know, I hope you enjoyed this little excursion to the past day of my crazy life changing trip of a lifetime.

Or whatever you want to call it. 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 1
  • #1

    jagertee (Donnerstag, 20 August 2015 14:57)

    to make your dream come true , may be this link is a helpful suggestion http://www.flightnetwork.com/destinations/Honolulu/Vancouver_Honolulu.html
    i think you are on the right path to slowing down ;) . enjoy everything and have fun